Hello Darkness My Old Friend

I have some crazy dreams. Most of the ones I can remember are about nothing, some about projects I’m working on…almost as if I am solving the projects in my sleep, some of my dreams are about friends, sometimes even former girlfriends. Only on a few occasions have I had what I call VIVID dreams. One of those dreams is my deja vu dream that I still can’t figure out if I really had the dream or not, but nonetheless it is very scary to me and I try not to think about it much. The second vivid dream was about a month after my Mom passed back in 2013. The dream was both beautiful, yet so real and heartwarming. It was vivid and so emotional that I woke up crying, and it rocked me for days. You can read about that dream here.

Then I had this dream last night, or maybe it was early this morning and it shook me pretty hard. As I said before, most of my dreams are about nothing of consequence except for those two other instances…and then I had this dream, or maybe it was a nightmare, or possibly a premonition (for which I am skeptical). Here’s what I wrote down the first thing this morning when I awoke before the conclusion of the dream…

I had a sense during the sequence of this dream that it was about the morals of our country or maybe of a political nature. I could see no faces, and there were no biases,  sides or positions to take, I just had this sense of it being about our country. I was removed from the dream and watching from afar, disassociated maybe, but I could see what was happening. I saw what appeared to be a large city or country consisting of buildings and human like figures, but no sound. Although it was well lit, I felt an impending doom was about to happen, and I saw an arm and hand reach out to these human like figures, but as it reached out…the figures jerked away from the arm as if angry or not wanting to be bothered.

At that point a heavy blanket of darkness, almost like a fog started to cover the area and I could see flashes of lights and explosions, but no sound. I could see people screaming and crying, and begging for it to all stop, but no sound. And then I woke up, the dream was over and now I am here writing it down.

Was it just a dream of a song, the rapture, maybe the protests or marches or a political struggle within my mind of what could happen. Perhaps it was just a crazy ass dream with a bunch of symbolism to confuse me…I just don’t know, but I hope I don’t ever have to find out.

Now that I’m fully awake, and as I was writing this down, for some reason the song “The Sounds of Silence” came to mind, and so I took a look at the lyrics…eerily similar to my dream, although I  hadn’t heard this song in awhile…especially with a backdrop of a dream.

THE SOUNDS OF SILENCE

Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its seeds while I was sleeping
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence
In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets of cobblestone
‘Neath the halo of a street lamp
I turned my collar to the cold and damp
When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
That split the night
And touched the sound of silence
And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
People talking without speaking
People hearing without listening
People writing songs that voices never share
And no one dare
Disturb the sound of silence
“Fools” said I, “You do not know
Silence like a cancer grows
Hear my words that I might teach you
Take my arms that I might reach you”
But my words like silent raindrops fell
And echoed
In the wells of silence
And the people bowed and prayed
To the neon god they made
And the sign flashed out its warning
In the words that it was forming
And the sign said, “The words of the prophets
Are written on the subway walls
And tenement halls”
And whisper’d in the sounds of silence

One thought on “Hello Darkness My Old Friend

  1. Wow,
    There seems to be a lot of parallels in your life and mine.
    I have the most vivid dreams, mostly of people, places and events that have no connection to real every day life. But which seem to be REAL as I dream them. I sometime wake up and am confused for a second or two as to which is the dream and which is reality.
    Some dreams are scary, some happy, some just plain nonsensical.
    And I also have a lot of dreams about the people I worked with at the observatory, in extreme detail.
    One recurring dream that I used to have involved catching a train and trying to get to some destination but always being stopped by something out of my control. One night in the dream I actually reached my destination and haven’t. had the dream since.
    I do not believe that the early psychologists and psychiatrists had any idea of what dreams really were. Freud surely didn’t.
    My belief is that there is a lot more that we don’t know than there is that we do know about dreams.
    I am convinced that a lot of the things that we experience as humans are way beyond our ability to comprehend or understand.
    There are so many things that I would like to find answers to before I pass into my next big adventure.
    Maybe it is possible that we will learn these unknowns in some future incarnation ???

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment